A fourth conviction within five years of the last offense is a felony, with a possible sentence of one to five years. You may also have to pay up to $5000 in fines.
A conviction for driving without a license in GA adds six months of license suspension, regardless of your traffic conviction history. However, your license reinstatement fee will go up to $410, depending on whether it is your first, second, third, or fourth conviction.
Besides license suspension, not carrying your license while driving is also a misdemeanor in Georgia. That means you can face a sentence of 12 months in prison or a fine of up to $1,000. The fine may go down to $10 if you can later present a valid license that was in effect when the police arrested you.
If your license was suspended for DUI, consider contacting an experienced Atlanta DUI lawyer to fight your charges and keep your license.
Driving on Limited Permit in Georgia
You can’t operate a vehicle in Georgia while your driver’s license is suspended unless you have obtained a limited permit.
A limited driving permit usually allows you to drive from and to your home, work, school, and scheduled medical appointments only. You may be charged with driving without a license if you violate these conditions.
If your license is suspended, contact a traffic lawyer immediately. Our traffic law attorneys at Chehimi Law LLC can assist in applying for a limited permit or reinstating your license.
Driving Under the Influence
You can end up in jail if police arrest you for driving without a license. However, you could face a longer jail time if other violations, such as DUI, are involved.
A first-offense DUI is punishable by 12 months imprisonment, a fine of $1000, or both. The presence of an attorney may be crucial to guide you through the DUI case process.
Yes, you can go to jail for two days to twelve months if you’re arrested for driving a motor vehicle without a Georgia driver’s license. Charges may increase if you get a second conviction or have other traffic violations.
Yet you can fight these charges and jail terms by seeking help from a traffic attorney. The lawyer may be able to reduce the charges or dismiss your case.
Can I Be Arrested for Driving Without a License as a Non-Resident of Georgia?
Non-residents who drive in Georgia need a valid out-of-state license and must meet the requirements of a Georgia driver’s license.
If you are driving with a valid license from your state in Georgia, you will not be arrested for driving with that license. However, if you don’t have a license on you while driving, you will be arrested and may have to post a bond.
When you post a bond, you assure the court that you will attend your trial. Violating this bond can have serious consequences.
Can I Lose My License For DUI in Georgia?
You risk losing your license and other driving privileges if convicted of DUI in Georgia. Your license may be suspended for 12 months, and you may have to pay a reinstatement fee after the suspension period ends.
You may be able to avoid losing your license if you hire a lawyer to defend your DUI administrative and criminal case.