Probation for a First DUI in Georgia
For a first DUI offense, you are more likely to receive probation instead of jail time. While on probation, you have to pay the supervision fee. You will also have a probation officer monitor you to ensure the completion of your sentence.
DUI probation also has conditions that include the following:
- Community service
- No alcohol and drug use
- Random alcohol and drug screening
- Attending DUI school
- Reporting to the probation officer
- Taking alcohol and drug courses and treatment
- Suspension of your driver’s license
Receiving another DUI charge while on probation is a serious offense. You will risk having your probation for your existing DUI charge revoked and face jail time.
License Penalties for a First DUI in Georgia
A DUI conviction also leads to the suspension of your Georgia driver’s license. This suspension lasts up to 12 months for drivers over 21. You may be allowed a limited driving permit depending on your driving record.
Also, you can request an early license reinstatement after 120 days. However, you have to submit the following to the Department of Driver Services:
- A certificate showing completion of a state-approved Risk Reduction Program.
- A license reinstatement fee of $200 or $210, respectively, if you request reinstatement by mail or in person.
But, if your conviction is drug-related, you may face a 180-day license suspension.
DUI School for First-Time Conviction
If you get a DUI conviction, you might need to attend DUI classes at state-approved DUI schools. You will need to complete a Risk Reduction Program course. This course is crucial for your driver’s reinstatement by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS).
The time for completion may depend on various factors, but the course has 20 hours, which can take less than a week to complete.
Suppose you attend DUI school before your trial; it might be beneficial. You will likely be able to reinstate your license if 30 days have passed since your administrative license suspension hearing and you have completed 20 hours of DUI school.
Community Service and Substance Abuse Counseling
Besides the above penalties, you have to complete 40 hours of mandatory community service. You may also have to take an alcohol or drug dependency screening/evaluation. Suppose the evaluation proves you need treatment. In such cases, you will be expected to complete various counseling sessions.