Most states consider driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) over 0.08% to be illegal. Georgia law enforcement officers may still pursue DUI charges for lower levels under the DUI less safe statute.
The penalties for Georgia DUI convictions may include any or a combination of the following:
- Jail or prison time
- Fines and court fees
- Criminal record
- Vehicle impoundment
- License suspension or revocation
- Insurance repercussions
- Treatment for substance abuse
- Participation in DUI Risk Reduction School (also known as DUI School)
Depending on the circumstances, you may also face enhanced penalties. If you have been charged with a DUI alcohol or drug charge, hiring a Georgia DUI lawyer can help ensure your rights are protected throughout the legal process.
What Are Enhanced Penalties for a Georgia DUI?
If a driver driving under the influence has a minor in the vehicle, they can be charged with an additional crime of child endangerment. A conviction for this brings along more severe mandatory Georgia DUI penalties, including up to 12 months in prison and $1,000 in financial fines on top of standard DUI charges.
Having the support of a DUI defense attorney familiar with Georgia DUI law can be instrumental in fighting your DUI case when you face Enhanced Penalties.