Traffic Violations in Georgia

logos mobile min

Types of Georgia Traffic Violations

 

Many Georgia drivers have been pulled over by the police for traffic violations. Whether that was a failure to stop at a stop sign, aggressive driving, speeding, or distracted driving, getting a traffic ticket can be nerve-wracking.

Although the majority of traffic offenses are minor, certain traffic violations such as reckless driving, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, as well as leaving the scene of the accident can lead to arrest and other severe consequences.

Most traffic offenses are prosecuted as misdemeanors that typically don’t attract jail time, only a fine. But, in some cases, such as aggressive driving, judges can apportion jail time to the defendant. Also, in case of repeat offenses, the state may sometimes prosecute them as felonies, which can result in harsh fines and prison time.

Consequences of a Georgia Traffic Offense

 

In addition to fines and potential jail time, convicted drivers will also have points assigned to their driving record by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. Some of Georgia’s traffic violation points include:

  • Speeding: 2 points for driving at 15-18 mph over the speed limit; 3 points for driving 19-23 mph; 4 points for driving at 24-33 mph; 6 points for driving at 34 mph or more over the limit;
  • Following too closely, regardless of whether an accident occurs: 3 points.
  • Reckless Driving: 4 points;
  • Unlawful Passing School Bus: 6 points;
  • Aggressive driving: 6 points.

Since Georgia traffic laws see driving as a privilege, not a right, a driver convicted of certain offenses may face Georgia driver’s license suspension or even revocation. However, that can also occur if the driver accumulates too many points.

For drivers over 21, accumulating 15 points in 24 months can result in a suspended license. But, if drivers under 18 accumulate only 4 points in a 12-month period, they can also have their license suspended. 

 

What Is Super Speeder Law (O.G.C.A. 40-6-189)?

 

In Georgia, a Super Speeder is when an individual is charged with going 75 mph or more on a two-lane road. Or, when an individual is charged with going 85 mph or above on any road or highway in the State of Georgia, such as an interstate.

The offender will be expected to pay a $50 reinstatement fee along with the $200 Super Speeder fee in order for their license or driving privileges to be reinstated. Failure to pay the Super Speeder fee within 120 days of official notice will result in the suspension of the offender’s license or driving privileges.

 

How Can a Traffic Violation Attorney Help?

 

Simply paying a traffic citation is seen as an admission of guilt. However, contesting the ticket is considered the best way to fight the point penalty and the effect that it may have on the driver’s insurance premiums. 

The help of a traffic attorney with a record of success is critical if you are trying to mitigate the sanctions imposed for these offenses and get a more favorable outcome. 

To learn more about Georgia traffic violations, reach out to an attorney at Chehimi Law. 

CONTACT CHEHIMI LAW

Get In Touch With Us